Home > Boating People > Sailor of the Year Awards
Click to view full size image
Jimmy Spithill wins sailor of the year - Jimmy Spithill leads ORACLE TEAM USA to victory in the 34th America's Cup.
ORACLE TEAM USA skipper Jimmy Spithill was presented with the 2014 ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year (male) award at a ceremony in Palma, Spain on Tuesday evening.

The award came as recognition of the magnificent comeback Spithill presided over as the skipper of ORACLE TEAM USA during the 2013 America’s Cup. Down 8-1, and facing match point for over a week, Spithill and his team won eight consecutive races to retain the America’s Cup 9-8 over Emirates Team New Zealand.

In collecting the award, Spithill reflected on the team effort required to persevere in the face of overwhelming odds.

“I think the biggest difference between the other nominees and myself is that this wasn’t an individual performance. I’m accepting this award on behalf of the full team of ORACLE TEAM USA,” Spithill said.

“I think it’s recognition of the effort put in by all of the guys on the boat, as well as the designers, engineers, supporters, all the way up to Larry Ellison and Russell Coutts. This means a lot to all of us.”

This is the first World Sailor of the Year award for Spithill, who joins team mates Tom Slingsby (2010) and Russell Coutts (1995, 2003) in the exalted club.

Photo : Guilain Grenier / ORACLE TEAM USA
1778.jpg 1776.jpg 14151395368506.jpg 14151415845BAB.jpg 32482_0_2_photo_ISAF14ka_0364.JPG