Home > Yacht Racing - regattas > Gold Cup
Click to view full size image
Qualifying Groups set for Argo Group Gold Cup - Keith Swinton leads Lance Fraser during 2013 Argo Group Gold Cup in Hamilton, Bermuda.
Argo Group Gold Cup: Stage 6 of the Alpari World Match Racing Touró www.argogroupgoldcup.com

Bermuda's Premier Michael Dunkley gave these words of welcome to the Argo Group Gold Cup skippers, crews and spectators -

"On behalf of the people of Bermuda, I am delighted to welcome the organizers and competitors and spectators for this year's Argo Group Gold Cup.

The fact that this excellent event is taking place within days of Tropical Storm Fay and Hurricane Gonzalo is testament to Bermuda's tremendous resilience and to your commitment to racing in one of the world's great sailing venues.

A lot of pieces quickly came together to keep The Argo Group Gold Cup on track, and I want to commend all participants for making it happen.

The weather looks good. Boats and crews are ready. Let the racing begin!"

by Talbot Wilson-


Click here to download the Official 2014 Argo Group Gold Cup Program
Hamilton BERMUDA, October 21, 2014  In spite of Hurricane Gonzalo's thrashing of the Onion Patch last week, the Royal Bermuda Yacht Club and the people of Bermuda are ready to host the 2014 Argo Group Gold Cup, Stage 6 of the Alpari World Match Racing Tour (AWMRT). All 20 teams have arrived safely from their corners of the world and will practice for a day and race on Wednesday.

Thirteen countries are represented in the 2014 Argo Group Gold Cup. The teams have been divided into two groups of 10 for the Qualifying Session round-robin knockout matches:
Group 1 features Tour leader leader Ian Williams (GBR) GAC Pindar, Bjorn Hansen (SWE) Hansen Sailing Team, Keith Swinton (AUS) Team Alpari FX, Francesco Bruni (ITA) Luna Rossa , Pierre Antoine Morvan (FRA) Equipe de France, Johnie Berntsson (SWE) Stena sailing Team, Arthur Herreman (FRA) Match the World, David Storrs (USA) Pequot Racing Team, Somers Kempe (BER) Raymarine/Ocean Electronics, and Dirk-Jan Korpershoek (NED) Opportunity Team.

Group 2 is led by 2nd on the Tour Taylor Canfield (ISV) Team One, Mathieu Richard (FRA) Luna Jet, Phil Robertson (NZL) WAKA Racing, David Gilmour (AUS) Team Gilmour, Staffan Lindberg (FIN) Alandia Sailing Team, Eric Monnin (SWI) Swiss Match Racing Team, Marek Staqnczyk (POL) www.470sailing.org.pl , Chris Poole (USA) Riptide Racing, Lance Fraser (BER) DigiCel Bermuda, and Nathen Outteridge (SWE) Artemis Racing.

Seedings in the groups are based on AWMRT and ISAF rankings and other performance factors. Teams sail a 10-team Round-Robin knock-out elimination within their group. Then the top four teams from each group move on to directly to the knockout phases with Quarter Finals, Semi Finals and Finals scheduled. There is no second-chance Repechage sail-off in the Argo Group Gold Cup... 12 teams are beached at the end of the Round-Robin Qualifying matches.

Group 1 Skipper ISAF Rank Tour Rank Nation Racing Team

Williams, Ian 2 1 GBR GAC Pindar
Hansen, Bjorn 4 4 SWE Hansen Sailing Team
Swinton, Keith 9 5 AUS Team Alpari FX
Morvan, Pierre-Antoine 12 8 FRA Equipe de France
Berntsson, Johnie 16 18 SWE Stena Sailing Team
Herreman, Arthur 20 13 FRA MATCH THE WORLD
Bruni, Francesco 37 ITA Luna Rossa
Korpershoek,Dirk-Jan 42 NED Opportunity Team
Storrs, David 43 USA Pequot Racing Team
Kempe, Somers BER Raymarine/Ocean Electronics

Group 2 Skipper ISAF Rank Tour Rank Nation Racing Team

Canfield, Taylor 1 2 ISV US One
Richard, Mathieu 3 3 FRA LunaJets
Robertson, Phil 5 6 NZL WAKA Racing
Monnin, Eric 6 13 SUI Swiss Match Race Team
Gilmour, David 10 7 AUS Team Gilmour
Linberg, Staffan 11 FIN Alandia Sailing Team
Poole, Chris 19 USA Riptide Racing
Stanczyk, Marek 32 POL www.470sailing.org.pl
Fraser, Lance 64 BER Digicel Bermuda
Nathan Outteridge SWE Artemis Racing

The 2014 Argo Group Gold Cup will be sailed with the same 20-team format used in 2013. This Argo Group Gold Cup format is unique on the Alpari World Match Racing Tour. It starts with Qualifying in two 10-team groups. Skippers in the groups are ranked and divided by Alpari World Match Racing Tour officials and the organizers at the RBYC.

2014 Alpari World Match Racing Tour Standings after Stage 5
1 Ian Williams (GBR) GAC Pindar 94pts
2 Taylor Canfield (ISV) US One 88pts
3 Mathieu Richard (FRA) LunaJets 76pts
4 Bjorn Hansen (SWE) Hansen Sailing 63pts
5 Keith Swinton (AUS) Team Alpari FX 58pts
6 Phil Robertson (NZL) WAKA Racing 56pts
7 David Gilmour (AUS) Team Gilmour 39pts
8 Francesco Bruni (ITA) Luna Rossa 20pts

Photo : Talbot Wilson
ae54-e915a6a1d0c9.jpg King_Edward_VII_Gold_Cup.jpg Fraser_Swinton_DSC_8864.jpg Canfield_Bruni_Spins_DSC_0056.jpg Canfield_defeated_Williams_DSC_9816.jpg