Home > Yacht Racing - regattas > 12 Metre North American Championships
Click to view full size image
A Blast from the America’s Cup Past - 12 Metre North American Championships - Victory ‘83 (left) and Courageous (right) in Modern Division at the 2013 12 Metre North Americans.
NEWPORT, R.I. (September 26, 2014) – This weekend, America’s Cup fans will enjoy a blast from the past when the legendary 12 Metre Class takes to Rhode Island Sound for the 2014 12 Metre North American Championships. The three-day regatta (September 26-28) hosts six competitors (all docked at Bannister’s Wharf), and racing will commence at 11 a.m. daily on the same waters where the America’s Cup was staged from 1930-1983.

Participating 12 Metres are split into three classes: Grand Prix (yachts built for the 1987 America’s Cup), Modern (yachts built from 1974 to 1983) and Traditional (yachts built from 1958-1970). Returning to defend their 2013 class wins are Gunther Buerman’s KZ-3 and Dennis Williams’s Victory ’83 in Grand Prix and Modern, respectively. Other competitors include Kip Curren’s KZ-5 (Grand Prix), Ralph Isham’s Courageous, Jack Curtin’s Intrepid (both Modern) and Anthony Chiurco’s American Eagle (Traditional).

After racing on Sunday (September 28), the Ida Lewis Yacht Club, the Organizing Authority of the event, will host the awards ceremony where Herb Marshall, Vice President of the 12 Metre Americas Fleet, will present the Gubelmann Trophy for the winner of each class in the North American Championships and the Ted Hood Trophy for the highest points overall for specific regattas during the season. Regatta Sponsors include Coppola Winery, Gaastra and the Turner Foundation.

For more information, visit http://www.12mrclass.com.

Photo : SallyAnne Santos
12MNA14_Fleet_SallyAnneSantos.jpg 12MNA2014Marshall_Buerman_SallyAnneSantos.jpg 12metre16778460_x.jpg 16778462_x.jpg 16778461_x.jpg