USA. 10th IGFA Fishing Hall of Fame induction next month

Tuesday, 09 September 2008

Tickets continue to sell steadily for next month’s gala induction ceremony for the tenth class into the IGFA Fishing Hall of Fame.

The October 25 event which takes place at the IGFA Fishing Hall of Fame in Dania Beach, Fla., USA, is one of the association’s most celebrated evenings of the year focusing on the five member class of 2008.  The annual event recognizes the honorees for the important contributions they made to the sport of fishing through angling achievements, the arts, literature, science, education, communication, invention or administration of fishery resources.

They include: the late Henry Chee a renowned Hawaii guide and innovator of offshore lures; the late Dr. Roy Dean, founder of the Intl. Light Tackle Tournament Assoc., early promoter of catch-and-release and researcher of billfish migration; Jimmy Houston, professional bass fisherman and TV show host; Kay Rybovich co-founder of the Intl. Women’s Fishing Assoc., conservationist and one of the grand ladies of sport fishing, and Karl Wickstrom founder and Editor-in-Chief of Florida Sportsman magazine, who initiated and chaired the Save Our Sealife campaign that banned gill nets and revitalized Florida's inshore waters

The evening’s activities which begin at 6 p.m. include a cocktail reception, silent auction, dinner and the induction ceremony.

Tickets for the evening are $200 per person and the public is invited. 

There are 70 Hall of Fame members currently enshrined and include Ernest Hemingway, Zane Grey, Curt Gowdy, Ted Williams, Michael and Helen Lerner, Philip Wylie and John Rybovich.

Last Updated ( Tuesday, 09 September 2008 )