UK. Sailors on Sunday Times Sportswomen of the Year shortlist

Monday, 12 November 2007

The Sunday Times has announced the shortlist for the 2007 Sportswomen of the Year Awards, in association with Sony Ericsson. Now in their 20th year, the Awards celebrate the outstanding contribution made by women in a variety of different areas to British sporting life.

The Sunday Times Sportswoman of the Year

Katherine Grainger
Christine Ohuruogu
Victoria Pendleton

Pindar Team of the Year

Arsenal Ladies
Great Britain women’s quadruple sculls
Yngling sailing trio (Sarah Ayton, Sarah Webb and Pippa Wilson)

Unsung Hero Award

Cherry Alexander (athletics)
Elaine McKenna (Special Olympics football)
Naomi Pallier (swimming)

MCC Young Sportswoman of the Year

Hollie Avil
Laura Collett
Shanaze Reade

The Champions Award

Nicole Arthur
Great Britain women’s gliding team

University Sporting Achievement of the Year

Jessica Ennis
Abby Westley
UWIC women’s rugby team

PE Teacher of the Year

Helen Finbow – Woodhey High school, Ramsbottom, Bury
Annie Thomas – Haileybury College, Hertford
Kellea Turner – Deyes High school, Liverpool

Sony Ericsson Overseas Sportswoman of the Year Award

Yelena Isinbayeva
Carolina Kluft
Lorena Ochoa

Nominations from Sunday Times readers, received either by post or through the timesonline website, closed on Friday October 12. A panel of judges, chaired by BBC Radio Five Live presenter Eleanor Oldroyd, decided the winners and runners-up for each Award. Two further categories, The Helen Rollason Award for Inspiration, which recognises inspirational endeavour, and a Sony Ericsson Lifetime Achievement Award, which were decided by the judges, will be announced at a lunch at Lord’s cricket ground on Tuesday November 20. Attended by some of the leading figures within the world of sport, it promises to be a memorable occasion. The Awards are also supported by the Women’s Sport and Fitness Foundation, UK Sport, Sport England and the CCPR.

Last Updated ( Monday, 12 November 2007 )