BYM Editor Cathy McLean short listed for 2 British Maritime Foundation Awards.

Monday, 09 November 2015

Cathy was a founder of BoatsYachtsMarinas in November 2000. In 2004 the name was changed to the shorter BYM News. In the same year BYM format changed to five dedicated news services. These remain today. 

Later French, German, Italian and Spanish Language services were added.

During those fifteen years under Cathy McLeans stewardship BYM news has brought awareness of marine issues to all corners of the  globe.

So perhaps the best testimony  to Cahy McLeans work is the way it has been appreciated  with 33, 899,041 page views  since records were kept in August 2012.

Win or lose Cathy we at BYM are proud of your achievement.


The Awards are

DESMOND WETTERN MEDIA AWARD for best journalistic contribution.

The award for Maritime Journalist is made to the writer, broadcaster academic or other person who has made the most constructive contribution to generating public awareness of the United Kingdom’s current maritime issues.

The award has been presented annually since 1995.

The prize is an engraved crystal decanter and a cheque for £1000.

The Nominees

Iain Ballantyne Editor, Warships IFR

Sam Chambers Editorial Director, Maritime CEO

Mike Critchley, Editor Warship World

Richard Jones, Reporter, ITV Meridian

Sam Llewellyn, Editor, The Marine Quarterly

Bernard McCall Editor, Coastal Shipping Magazine

Cathy McLean News Editor BYM News

Louise Nicholls Communications Manager, Royal Yachting Association

Rear Admiral Chris Parry CBE Author Commentator

John Roberts Editor Scuttlebutt

Admiral Lord West GCB DSC PC Former First Sea Lord

Howard Wheeldon Consultant, Wheeldon Strategic Advisory


The First Sea Lords Digital Media Award

The award is made to the team or person who in the opinion of the Awards the Committee has made the most constructive contribution to generating awareness of current maritime issues specifically produced and uploaded through digital media outlets.

The prize is a White Chapel Bell

The Nominees

K D Adamson Futurenautics

Debbie Calvadoro  Nautilus International

John Clandillon-Baker FNI –The Pilot Online Edition

Gary Davies Maritime Photographic

Maritime & Coastguard Agency: To Save Maritime & Coastguard Agency Film:

Cathy McLean BYM News

Kate Pain, Yannick Guerry & Ian Hislam HIS Maritime 360  www.ihsmaritime360

Peta Stuart-Hunt  2015 J P Morgan Assist Management Round The Island Race

Sue Terpilowski OBE and Bridget Hogan WISTA-UK Came By Ship

Dr. Dominic Tweddle and Mathew Sheldon The National Museum Of The Royal Navy


The award Ceremony takes place at 

The Institute of Directors,

Pall Mall, London

Thursday November 12th 2015 Commencing 18.45.



Last Updated ( Monday, 09 November 2015 )