New Zealand & UK. YouthSail 2006: 86 sailors battle it out for Youth Team selection Print E-mail
Friday, 21 April 2006
Jodie Perkins:

YouthSail is over for 2006 with no racing today due to lack of wind. Winners in the prestigious annual youth regatta will be awarded their trophies at tonight’s prize-giving and the NZL Yachting Trust Youth Team 2006 will be officially announced next week.

90 youth sailors, age 18 and under have been battling it out over the last four days on Lyttelton harbour sailing in six different classes. 53 boats and five boards from throughout New Zealand came together at Naval Point Club in Lyttelton, Christchurch.

For the 86 sailors competing in the youth classes, this regatta is the final step in the selection process for the NZL Yachting Trust Youth Team to travel to the ISAF World Youth Championship to be held in Weymouth, England in mid July.

Full results are available on the Naval Point Club Website through the link below.

YouthSail 2006: Final Results
Laser (Top Five)

1st - Matt Coutts (Murrays Bay SC)
2nd - Blair Lindsay (Murrays Bay SC)
3rd - Aaron Hume-Merry (Evans Bay YC)
4th - Josh Junior (Worser Bay BC)
5th - Lloyd Andrews (Murrays Bay SC)
Laser Radial (Top Five)
1st - Cushla Hume-Merry (F) (Evans Bay YC)
2nd - Cam McKee (M) (Nelson YC)
3rd - Gabrielle Cross (F) (Naval Pont YC)
4th - Hayley Hume-Merry (F) (Worser Bay BC)
5th - Paula England (F) (Christchurch YC)
420 Boys (Top Five)
1st - Jason Saunders & Bruce Kennedy (Tauranga YPBC)
2nd - Carl Evans & Peter Burling (Kohimarama YC/Tauranga YPBC)
3rd - Rowan Swanson & Benjamin Hanns (Worser Bay BC)
4th - Paul Snow-Hansen & Sam Marshall (Wakatere BC/Howick YC)
5th - Adrian Short & David Hazard (Sandspit YC)
420 Girls (Top Five)
1st - Sarah Berry & Emma Berry (Worser Bay BC)
2nd - Susannah Pyatt & Bianca Barbarich-Bacher (Murrays Bay SC)
3rd - Stephanie Hazard & Cindy Hamilton (Sandspit YC)
4th - Alexandra Davies & Danielle Bowater (Kohimarama YC/Charteris Bay YC)
5th - Leah Moncheur & Nicola Trudgen (Muritai YC)
Hobie 16
1st - Rory Godman & Kelly Godman (Burkes St Leonard BC)
2nd - Ryan Donaldson & Ryan Thomson (Naval Point Cluc/Akaroa SC)
3rd - Zak Shewam & Steven Christophers (Tauranga YPBC)
4th - Seth Price & Ethan Price (Heretaunga BC)
RS:X Boys
1st - Joshua Nixon (Takapuna BC)
2nd - Scott Davies (Kohimarama YC)
3rd - Samuel Lichtwark (Takapuna BC)
RS:X Girls
1st - Justina Sellers (Takapuna BC)
2nd - Kate Ellingham (Takapuna BC)
1st - William Stevens & Mathew Swinbourn (Ravensbourne Trust)
2nd - Scott Rhodes & Deryck Edie (Ravensbourne Trust)
3rd - Chelsea Whitburn & Daniel Meehan (Ravensbourne Trust)
4th - Henry Wilkinson & Myfy Norton (Ravensbourne Trust)
Last Updated ( Friday, 21 April 2006 )
< Prev   Next >