Spain. Trofeo SAR Princesa Sofía-Mapfre: The British Nick Dempsey, absolute winner Print E-mail
Saturday, 15 April 2006
Elena Pipó & Neus Jordi:

The Trofeo SAR Princesa Sofía-Mapfre used with success the new Olympic competition format with a medal race full of excitement in each class. British sailor Nick Dempsey won the absolute winner title at the 37 edition of the Trofeo SAR Princesa Sofía-Mapfre. Dempsey was the best competitor in Neil Pryde RS:X men sailed today with comfortable advantage but he didn’t relax and he dominated the medal race. Dempsey has won 6 of the 12 races sailed and takes over the absolute winner title from Spanish sailor Iván Pastor. Pastor, who also competed in this category, finished second in the medal race but could not step on the podium. Second place overall was for Brazilian sailor Ricardo Santos and Tom Ashley from New Zealand.

British victory also in the Neil Pryde RS:X women, with Bryony Shaw at the top of the standings. Second and third places on the podium were for Spanish sailors Blanca Manchón and Marina Alabau.

Rafael Trujillo’s efforts in the Finn class were futile and despite sailing a great race today, the advantage gained by Danish sailor Jonas Hoegh-Christensen in the previous races made him the indisputable leader. Trujillo was second overall and third place was for Canadian competitor Christopher Cook.

The “a priori” fierce battle to be seen between Australian teamDarren Bundock/Glenn Ashby and Greek sailors Iordanis Paschalidis/Kostas Trigonis for the leadership in the Tornado class did not finally happen. The Australian were superior from the beginning and won the medal race while the Greek sailors crossed the line in 9th place. Iordanis Paschalidis/Kostas Trigonis were finally second overall followed by German team Roland Gaebler/Gunnar Struckmann.

Conservative and careful sailing in the 49er with no changes in the leading places. Italian team Pietro and Gianfranco Sibello with a comfortable advantage before today’s race managed to keep the lead in the class. Second place overall was for British team Chris Draper/Simon Hiscocks and third place was for Ukrainian team Rodion Luka/Georgi Leonchuk.

In 470 women, Spanish sailors Natalia Via-Dufresne/Laia Tutzó were the winners of the medal race but could not make it to the podium. The medal race brought a close battle for first place between British team Christina Bassadone/Saskia Clark and French sailors Petitjean Ingrid/Douroux Nadège. The overall victory was finally for the British team and second place for the French sailors. Third place overall was for Dutch sailors Marcelien De Koning /Lobke Berkhout.

In the Yngling fleet, the victory was for US teamRally Barkow/Carrie Howe/Debbie Capozzi followed in second place on the podium by British sailors Ayton/Rawlinson/Webb. Third place overall was for Dutch team Mandy Mulder/Annemieke Bes/Floortje Hendriks.

In 470 men, Israeli sailors Gideon Kliger/Ehud Gal sailed the medal race being leaders of the standings and won the medal race reconfirming their leadership and first place overall. Second place overall was for Italian team Gabrio Zandonà/Andrea Trani followed in third place by Portuguese sailors Alvaro Marinho/Miguel Nunes.

A more exciting race was seen in the Laser Radial with nerves at the start that brought 3 OCS with US sailor Paige Railey among them and losing any chances of a place on the podium. Belgian sailor Evi Van Acker maintained her leadership with a victory in the medal race. Second place of the podium is for Greek sailor Virginia Kravarioti and third place for French competitor Sophie De Turckheim.

The medal race brought no changes in the Laser class. Indisputable class leader Maciej Grabowski (POL) finished second in today’s race but maintained the lead in the class. Second place was for British sailor Paul Goodison and third place for German competitor Alexander Schlonski.

In the 420 class, the podium was for Spanish sailors José Medina/Antonio del Castillo followed in second place by Spanish team Francisco Cardenes/Juan Cerezo and David Omedes/Carlos Gallart in third place.

Spanish victory also in the Europe, with David Kearley in the lead followed by Swedish sailors Victor Bergstrom and Marcus Dackhammar.

German team Markus Wieser/Robert Stark/Thomas Auracher was the winner in the Dragon class with a very regular performance throughout the event. Second place was for British boat “Danish Blue” with crew members Hoj Jensen/Eduardo Caro/Jesper Bemoix followed in third place by Danish team Nacer Cees/Lucas Dirkjan.
Last Updated ( Saturday, 15 April 2006 )
< Prev   Next >